Designated Hospitals

The Department of Mental Health designates hospitals in Vermont to provide services to those under the custody of the Commissioner of Mental Health, also known as involuntary hospitalization.

There are certain rights that you, a family member, or a friend have as a person in the custody or the temporary custody of the commissioner of Mental Health. 

Notice of your Rights (September 23, 2016)

Populations Served

The Department of Mental Health currently designates seven hospitals to provide psychiatric inpatient care in Vermont. All seven hospitals provide services to adults while the Brattleboro Retreat provides inpatient services to children and youth requiring psychiatric hospitalization. 

Please click on the links below to find out more information.

Contact Information

Department of Mental Health
Commissioner Sarah Squirrell
280 State Drive, NOB 2 North
Waterbury, VT 05671-2010
Phone:  (802) 241-0090
Fax: (802) 241-0100

Public Records Database and Contact Information

Read More

Contact Us