Skip to main content

An Official Vermont Government Website

Vermont State Logo

Designated Hospitals

The Department of Mental Health designates hospitals in Vermont to provide services to those under the custody of the Commissioner of Mental Health, also known as involuntary hospitalization.

There are certain rights that you, a family member, or a friend have as a person in the custody or the temporary custody of the commissioner of Mental Health.

Notice of your Rights (October 9, 2019)

Populations Served

The Department of Mental Health currently designates six hospitals to provide psychiatric inpatient care in Vermont. All six hospitals provide services to adults while the Brattleboro Retreat also provides inpatient services to children and youth requiring psychiatric hospitalization.

Please click on the links below to find out more information.