Incompetency/Insanity Evaluation Flow Chart

Mental lliness
related, evaluation
may be on an
inpatient basis if
defendant is:

-Danger to self and v

others,

-No less restrictive,
appropriate place
than a hospital. v

Otherwise,

evaluation is on
outpatient basis.

Criminal Court

Developmental
Disability related,
evaluation should
on an outpatient

Vermont Superior Court Criminal Division issues and order
for psychiatric examination pursuant to 13 V.S.A. § 4814

v'  To determine defendant's competency to stand trial and/or
sanity at the time of the alleged crime.
Applies to those with a “mental disease or defect" as defined
by 13 V.S.A. § 4801(a)(2).
v The examinations may occur on an inpatient (designated
hospital) or outpatient (corrections, other appropriate facility,
or community) basis.
Inpatient reserved for those believed to have a mental illness.

basis as defendant
cannot be “a
person in need of
treatment” as
defined by 18
V.S.A. § 7101(17).

If defendant is
found
incompetent
and/or insane,
may be eligible for
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Inpatient Examination

If found competent/sane =
will be prosecuted for crime
and process ends. Cannot
remain in the hospital.

If incompetent and/or insane
and found to need continued
hospital level of care = 90 day
OH.

If incompetent and/or insane
but does not need hospital
level care = 90-day ONH
(often stipulated to by parties
and issued by court but may
also be issued by court after a
contested hearing.

90-day Order of
Hospitalization

A defendant found
incompetent and/or

insane may, by stipulation

or after a contested

hearing, be placed on a 90-

day OH

an Act 248
Commitment.

Outpatient Examination

If found competent/sane = may be
prosecuted for crime. Process ends
for DMH.

If incompetent and/or insane =
likely ONH
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Not a DA client = schedule

.

Current client of DA =

placement on a 90-day ONH

by stipulation or after
hearing

and complete an intake
assessment through
conditions of release or 90-
day ONH

.

ACT

If person continues to need treat outpatient treatment before 90-day
order expires, DMH may file an ACT in the Vermont Superior Court Family

Division seeking up to a 1 year (ONH or OH).

¥

ONHs in this context often
happen by stipulation. If
parties will not stipulate,
and individual has no
contact with DA,
parties/courts often
frustrated there is no
“provider”/expert to testify
about need for
treatment/level of care.




