Designated Hospitals

The Department of Mental Health designates hospitals in Vermont to provide services to those under the custody of the Commissioner of Mental Health, also known as involuntary hospitalization.

There are certain rights that you, a family member, or a friend have as a person in the custody or the temporary custody of the commissioner of Mental Health. 

Notice of your Rights (September 23, 2016)

Populations Served

The Department of Mental Health currently designates seven hospitals to provide psychiatric inpatient care in Vermont. All seven hospitals provide services to adults while the Brattleboro Retreat provides inpatient services to children and youth requiring psychiatric hospitalization. 

There are three levels of inpatient service for adults:

Level 1 Involuntary - Involuntary hospitalization stays paid at-cost to contracted and state providers for people who are the most acutely distressed who require additional resources. Three hospitals currently provide Level 1 involuntary inpatient care: Rutland Regional Medical Center (RRMC), Brattleboro Retreat (BR), and Vermont Psychiatric Care Hospital (VPCH).

Non-Level 1 Involuntary – Involuntary hospitalization stays for individuals who do not require additional resources.  All designated hospitals provide this level of care.

Voluntary - Voluntary hospitalization stays.  All designated hospitals, with the exception of VPCH, provide this level of care.

Please click on the links below to find out more information.

Contact Information

Department of Mental Health
Commissioner Melissa Bailey
280 State Drive, NOB 2 North
Waterbury, VT 05671-2010
Phone:  (802) 241-0090
Fax: (802) 241-0100

Contact Us