Committees, Workgroups, and Initiatives

Each unit of the Department of Mental Health has supporting committees, boards, and workgroups that advise, provide input, make suggestions, and/or perform supervision for those that use or provide those services.

Please visit the Meetings & Events page to find out when and where the Department of Mental Health's Committees are meeting.

Minutes for all of the committees below are posted on the Minutes Archive page.



  • State Mental Health Block Grant Planning Council:  Planning Councils are comprised of a wide range of stakeholders including adult consumers of mental-health services, family members, parents of children and adolescents experiencing a serious emotional disturbance, providers of mental-health services, advocates, and other interested members of the community.

  • Emergency Involuntary Proceedures (EIP) Review Committee; The Emergency Involuntary Procedures (EIP) Review Committee is a committee convened by the Commissioner of the Department of Mental Health (Department) to review inpatient hospital emergency involuntary procedures.

  • Local Program Standing Committee:  Local Program Standing Committees have consumer- and family-majority composition and responsibilies similar to the State Standing Committee, but they are not involved in the re-designation process for their agencies nor do they necessarily have members on the Mental Health Block Grant Planning Council.

  • State Program Standing Committee:  The SPSCs advise DMH on an array of issues important to each population  and advise the Department of Mental Health on key issues and developments. Consumers, families, and providers are all repre­sented on the SPSC; most Standing Committee members are consumers and family members.

  • Vermont Psychiatric Care Hospital Advisory Committee

  • Vermont Psychiatric Care Hospital Policy Committee: The Vermont Psychiatric Care  Hospital Policy Committee creates, edits, and revises policies that are specific to the facility. The Policy Committee considers public comments on all new and revised policies, amends new and reviewed policies based on discussion and comments, recommends to the Chief Executive Officer whether to make any policies Interim, and forwards any approved policies to the Governing Body for final consideration and approval.
  • State Program Standing Committee:  There is a State Program Standing Committee for each Department of Mental Health population served. Each State Committee is comprised of between 9 and 15 members, appointed by the governor, a majority of whom will be disclosed consumers and family members.


  • Local Program Standing Committee: Each service provider must be governed by a board made up of citizens who are representative of the demographic makeup of the area served by the agency. There must be a Local Program Standing Committee of the board for each population served. For Specialized Service Agencies and contracted providers, their Board of Directors acts as their Local Program Standing Committee. Each committee is comprised of at least five members, a majority of which are disclosed consumers and family members.
  • Act 264 Advisory Board: The Advisory Board is made up of nine members appointed by the governor, including equal numbers of parents, advocates, and providers. The Board's purpose is to advise the secretaries of the Agency of Human Services and of the Agency of Education, and the commissioners for mental health, child welfare, and disabilities on:
    • matters relating to children and adolescents with a severe emotional disturbance.
    • the development and status of the system of care.
    • yearly priorities on the system of care for submission to the legislature.
  • Act 264 Local Interagency Teams: If a child's personal Treatment Team is unable to agree upon or implement a Coordinated Service Plan to meet the needs of the individual and his/her family, they can bring the problem to their Local Interagency Team (LIT). The Team is composed at a minimum of representatives from the community mental health center, local school districts, the local office of the Department for Children & Families, Division of Family Services and family members. Their purpose is to provide technical assistance to a Treatment Team to implement a successful Coordinated Service Plan and to help develop the system of care in that region. The Coordinator for each Local Interagency Team may be reached at your community mental health center.


  • Act 264 State Interagency Team: If a Local Interagency Team is unable to resolve the difficulties of implementing a child's Coordinated Service Plan, it may refer the situation to the State Interagency Team (SIT) for additional technical assistance.

    The State Interagency Team is composed of similar representatives from state level offices and a family representative. The State Interagency Team will suggest solutions for individual situation as well as works to develop solutions to problems that occur across the system of care as a whole.

  • Child Trauma Workgroup: The Agency of Human Services (AHS) Child Trauma Workgroup was formed in 2004 as a subcommittee of the AHS Trauma Cluster. These groups were formed in response to the recognition by the Vermont Commission on Psychological Trauma that many people obtaining AHS services have multiple or complex experiences of trauma in their history and that this has significant implications on how to provide services that are supportive and effective. The Child Trauma Workgroup currently functions with collaborative public/ private membership from AHS, Department of Mental Health, Department for Children and Families, Vermont Network Against Domestic and Sexual Violence, Vermont Adoption Consortium, Vermont Federation of Families for Children’s Mental Health, Washington County Mental Health Services, HowardCenter, Northeastern Family Institute, New England Counseling and Trauma Center, and trauma survivors/parents.


To view the meeting minutes from any of these meetings, please visit the Minutes Archive page.

If you are interested in becoming involved in any of these groups, please contact the Department of Mental Health at

(802) 241-0090.